T minus 14 days – Lesson Plan Templates

education

I am very excited to announce that I will be teaching Math at San Juan Hills High School in the Capistrano Unified School District this year. The first day with students is exactly two weeks away and there is so much to get done. Despite my best intentions to have everything lesson planned through Thanksgiving, I am finding myself still trying to get settled on a lesson plan template that works well for me. I never really liked the lesson plan template that I used in my teacher preparation program. The fact that the template changed half way through the program and I never got a good orientation on how to use the new template contributed to the lack of love for it. 

The lesson template we used in my teacher prep program was a WHERETO format:

Where, Why, and What

Hook and Hold

Explore and Experience

Rethink, Revise, Refine

Evaluate

Tailored

Organized

Another Lesson planning resource (it’s not exactly a template) is Common Curriculum

This site allows for daily lesson plans to be stored and shared easily. It is very simple to bump a plan if you are behind. I think this would be great if a team wanted to work on lesson plans together. It also has seamless integration of Common Core standards and is very simple to add links to online resources and Google Drive resources. I started off by adding my class schedule. This took about 15-20 minutes to add all my classes, set the first and last day of school, and the weekly bell schedule. This would have been much faster if we had the same schedule every day, but there are 4 block days per week at my school, so I had to add the class times for the regular and block day separately. One thing I haven’t figured out yet is how to add holidays and special schedule days. For example we have standard schedule days with all classes meeting on the first two days of school, even though, according to the day of the week they should be block days.

With the implementation of Common Core state standards each course team will need to supplement the textbooks with additional projects, problems of the week, and discovery activities. There were some great activities provided by our district for unit 1, but more searching or even creation must be done.

Stay tuned for more updates as the school year approaches. I hope to share stellar lessons, and lessons learned from lesson flops.

Leave a Reply

