Response to :The Epic BYOD Toolchest

You can find the article I am responding to here: http://edut.to/1mWlo1w

Vicki Davis @coolcatteacher offers an immediately useful set of resources for any teacher trying to incorporate technology into the classroom. I particularly appreciated that the tools were broken down into categories.

Here are my experiences with a few of the tools listed:

Socrative: I haven’t had the opportunity to use this in the classroom, but I have played with it a bit. I made an order of operations quiz. When I was making the quiz I added several spelling variations for my short answer. I also created some multiple choice that I thought would be like a select all that apply. When I logged in on my second device as a student, the app based whether the answer was right or wrong on the first choice selected. This made for multiple right answers.

Here was my question: The following are examples of grouping symbols:

A. above and below a fraction bar

B. exponents

C. parenthesis ( )

D. multiplication

E. brackets [ ] or { }

I intended the right answer to be A, C, and E.

The only work around I can think of is using the optional explanation feature. I could type in the explanation field “above and below a fraction bar, parenthesis, and brackets are all examples of grouping symbols” and this text will display after the student answers the question.

I tried this quiz as a student paced and as a “space race”. I can see the space race working in a scenario where there is a limited number of devices in a room. The class could be split into teams with one device per team. In a limited device scenario I might want to project the questions on the board so that all students can see them at the same time and then make a rule that the team must agree on the answer before they enter it. If I was doing teacher paced I might ask a team member to defend their answer after each question.

I also like the opportunity to ask a single question. This make Socrative ideal for quick checking for understanding. If you have a 1:1 program you can use Socrative instead of whiteboards and never have to worry about markers drying out or students writing too small for me to read.

Google Forms: Here is my Youtube video about using Google Forms to motivate students 

When I tried to use a the Google Form in the video during student teaching I found out that the district blocks Google sites from student access. (I had embedded the form of a Google site: https://sites.google.com/site/mrskochatauburndale/)

Screencastomatic: I had an assignment in Digital Video to use screencastomatic. I found it relatively easy to use. I’d like to figure out it I can do the picture in picture with the video on me and the screen share at the same time. I personally find this more interested than the disembodied voice talking over the screen share.

Here is my screencastomatic:

Evernote: I have been using this app on my iPad occasionally since Fall 2013, but just figured out that I can create separate notebooks for my notes. I have heard lots of great things about this app, but am not using Evernote to it’s full potential.

Thank you for taking the time to read my experiences. Please share your own experiences with the apps listed in Vicki’s post in the comments.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close